Gwent: Killed It achievement

Getting the Hearts of Stone Killed It achievement was the most difficult part of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt experience for me.

To “win a round of Gwent, with a strength of 187 or more” seemed a little out of my reach for the majority of two playthroughs.

Here’s how I got the Killed It achievement:

On my first playthrough I think I rarely got over 150 strength in a round, even towards the end of the game.

And I was playing on normal Gwent difficulty, so the opponents were not pushovers.

By the end of my second playthrough I still hadn’t unlocked the achievement, so set about researching the different ways it could be done.

Gwent: Killed it Achievement in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt.

In the end I did it with a Northern Realms deck, three Crenfrid Reavers, a Command’s Horn, and Foltest: Siegemaster boosting Siege cards.

The down side to this technique is that you have to absolutely wait for the right draw, and keep forfeiting the game if you don’t have a basic starter deck. Which means quitting the game over and over again.

What you need, really, is luck on the opening draw, and luck on the second and third draws too.

The screenshots here were all taken on my lucky round. The big image at the top is my actual opening draw. If you look you can see that it seems destined for greatness. A lot of forfeited games preceded this draw, though.

In this strategy you need all three Crenfrid Reavers Dragon Hunter cards on the board at once, with a Command’s Horn on them, to score big points (90 in total), and then you need to hit your opponent with lots of Siege cards, before boosting said Siege cards with a Foltest: The Siegemaster leader card.

This is what you want.

If you get lucky and manage to keep the bad weather off you, and your other cards did okay, then that should hopefully add up to 187 strength or more.

Take your fingers away from your eyes and check...

Literally Killed It with a strength of 204.
The last of my achievements to get.

Published by Mallo

Writer and screenshot enthusiast. Ex-PC Zoner.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started